On July 1954

The school decided to set up Department of Physics, under the basic courses, the direct leadership of the Office of Academic Affairs.

From 1960 to 1961

Solid mechanics, fluid mechanics, physics, chemistry, physics and chemistry department merged after the restoration of basic courses, including mathematics, physics, chemistry, sports and politics (Department of Marxism-Leninism).

On August 1983

In order to meet teaching and research needs, the school decided to withdraw the Department of Physical Chemistry and Solid State Electronics Department, the establishment of the Department of physics and solid state electronics.

October 1983

Central Institute issued document [1983] No. 154 "On physics and solid state electronics department was renamed the Department of Physics of the notice," the Department of Physics was established.

On April 1984

According to the needs of teaching and scientific research, the original Department of Physics revoked, respectively, and the establishment of the Department of Physics Department of Solid State Electronics.

On May 2000

HUST, Tongji Medical University, Wuhan Urban Construction College merged Huazhong University of Science, On September of the same year, the former Huazhong University Department of Physics, Department of Physics and former Wuhan Urban Construction College merged.

On August 2005

Department of Physics, Tongji Medical University is incorporated.

On May 2008

In order to adapt to the overall development of physical discipline and school construction needs of the world famous Top University, School of Physics was established.